A Pleasant Apocalypse: Notes from the Grand Hotel Abyss

38,00 Euro

A grand hotel on the edge of the abyss? The phrase that provided the title and the agenda for steirischer herbst ’19—Grand Hotel Abyss came from the pen of the philosopher Georg Lukács. In the early 1930s he used this striking metaphor to describe the attitude of the European intellectual and cultural scene who continued to party in an uninhibited, hedonistic manner, despite the looming rise of fascism. Doomsday scenarios viewed from a snug sofa, along with the culinary and cultural comfort zones known as “Genusshauptstädte” (pleasure capitals), demonstrate that the apocalypse can be shaped in a thoroughly pleasant and exciting manner today.

This reader, accompanying the 52nd edition of steirischer herbst, tracks these observations and explores the relevance of this historical context, as well as the significance of critical artistic attitudes, in essays, artists’ texts, and numerous illustrations.

Edited by
Ekaterina Degot, David Riff

With contributions by
Ariel Efraim Ashbel, Keti Chukhrov, Goran Ferčec, Riccardo Giacconi, Eva Illouz, Siegfried Kracauer, Stephan Lessenich, Daniel Mann, Marko Radmilovič, Aaron Schuster, Vladimir Sorokin, Hasso Spode, Michiel Vandevelde, Gernot Wieland, Evan Calder Williams

Design
Grupa Ee

English, May 2020
248 pages, 78 illustrations, 15 × 24 cm, softcover
Hatje Cantz
ISBN 978-3-7757-4746-2

Released in May 2020

Expected delivery date: mid-May

Buy

A Pleasant Apocalypse: Notes from the Grand Hotel Abyss

38,00 Euro

Ein Grand Hotel am Rande des Abgrunds? Der programmgebende Name des steirischen herbst ’19 – Grand Hotel Abyss – stammt aus der Feder des Philosophen Georg Lukács. Mit diesem Bild beschrieb er Anfang der 1930er-Jahre die Haltung europäischer Intellektueller und Kunstschaffender, die im Angesicht des aufkommenden Faschismus in ungehemmt-hedonistischer Manier feierten. Endzeitszenarien, bequem vom Sofa aus mitverfolgt, sowie kulinarische und kulturelle Komfortzonen in Form von „Genusshauptstädten” zeigen: Der Weltuntergang lässt sich auch heute durchaus angenehm und aufregend gestalten.

Der Reader der 52. Ausgabe des steirischen herbst dokumentiert das Geschehen und erkundet entlang von Essays, Künstler*innentexte und zahlreichen Abbildungen sowohl die aktuelle Relevanz dieses historischen Kontexts als auch die Bedeutung kritischer künstlerischer Haltungen.

Herausgeber
Ekaterina Degot, David Riff

Texte von
Ariel Efraim Ashbel, Keti Chukhrov, Goran Ferčec, Riccardo Giacconi, Eva Illouz, Siegfried Kracauer, Stephan Lessenich, Daniel Mann, Marko Radmilovič, Aaron Schuster, Vladimir Sorokin, Hasso Spode, Michiel Vandevelde, Gernot Wieland, Evan Calder Williams

Gestaltet von
Grupa Ee

Englisch, Mai 2020
248 Seiten, 78 Abbildungen, 15 × 24 cm, Broschur
Hatje Cantz Verlag
ISBN 978-3-7757-4746-2