Public Program

Bread & Puppet Theater

Public workshop
May Day rally of the KPÖ on the Vienna Ringstrasse
May Day rally of the KPÖ (Communist Party of Austria) on the Vienna Ringstrasse. March of workers of Waagner-Biro A.G., May 1, 1953. Photographer unknown. Source: OeNB

Founded in New York in the early 1960s, Bread & Puppet Theater is a legendary performing arts group. They first became famous for their open-air political vaudeville, played with giant puppets in the protests against the war in Vietnam, and they have continued to point out and protest ongoing injustices ever since with their theater productions, pageants, and parades.

This September the group brings their playful political satire to Graz. In a newly commissioned piece for steirischer herbst that moves through the city on the day of the festival’s opening, they will stop at various points along the way to enact scenes of a so-called Insurrection Mass, held in light of the current situation of the world. It begins with the opening of the collective ear, and the ceremonious introduction of the Mass’ gods including the god of Papier-Mâché (the material from which all gods are made), or the god of the day who bears witness over the Mass. The hymn of the day is sung, and then hell is introduced and in the presence of hell the scriptures are read. The scriptures’ content ranges from nursery rhymes to political statements, and after reading they are fed into the mouth of hell for processing. The result of this processing is the rotten idea of the day, which is read and placed in the care of the god of the day. In response, the insurrection preacher delivers the sermon of the day with the help of a fiddle and fiddle bow. Finally, the rotten idea of the day is taken on a wild funeral march and given a proper burial.

Be part of this spectacle!
The performance is preceded by a public workshop. Over eight days you can help build the puppets used in the parade, rehearse the choreography, contribute your favorite nursery rhyme and add to the news stories that shape the current situation…


Workshop schedule
12.09.–19.09.2018 daily 13:00–16:00, 18:30–21:00
Helmut-List-Halle, Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a, 8020 Graz

Performance
20.09.2018, 17:00, Europaplatz – Keplerstraße – Mariahilferplatz


Any questions? Please write to breadandpuppet@steirischerherbst.at
Feel free to stop by spontaneously or register through email.

In English with German translation available

Free admission

Related
Program ’18 / Volksfronten
The Underneath the Above Parade #1 (2018)
Performance

Public Program

Bread & Puppet Theater

Öffentlicher Workshop
Maikundgebung der KPÖ auf der Wiener Ringstraße
Maikundgebung der KPÖ auf der Wiener Ringstraße. Aufmarsch von Arbeitern der Waagner-Biro A.G., 1. Mai 1953. Fotograf*in unbekannt. Quelle: OeNB

Das in den frühen 1960er-Jahren in New York gegründete Bread & Puppet Theater ist eine legendäre Performance-Gruppe. Bekannt wurde es durch politische Open-Air-Varietés, in welchen mit Riesenpuppen gegen den Vietnamkrieg protestiert wurde.  Seither bezieht das Bread & Puppet Theater mit Theaterproduktionen, Festspielen und Paraden auf spektakuläre und wirksame Weise gegen anhaltende Ungerechtigkeiten Stellung.

Im September bringt die Gruppe ihre spielerische politische Satire nach Graz. In einem neuen Auftragswerk für den steirischen herbst, einer „Prozession des Aufstands“, bewegen sie sich am Tag der Festivaleröffnung durch die Stadt und inszenieren anlässlich der aktuellen weltpolitischen Situation an verschieden Punkten entlang des Weges Szenen ihrer politischen Messe. Am Beginn steht die Öffnung des kollektiven Ohrs sowie eine feierliche Vorstellung der Götter des Aufstandes: der Gott fürs Pappmaschee (das Material, aus dem alle Götter gemacht sind) etwa oder der Tagesgott, der über die Prozession Zeugnis ablegt. Die Tageshymne wird gesungen, anschließend wird auch die Hölle vorgestellt. In ihrer Gegenwart werden die Verse des Tages vorgelesen, deren Inhalte von Kinderreimen bis hin zu politischen Aussagen reichen. Daraufhin werden sie zur Aufbereitung in den Mund der Hölle gespeist. Das Ergebnis ist die faulige Idee des Tages, die verlesen und in die Obhut des Tagesgottes gelegt wird. Daraufhin hält der Aufstandsprediger mit Hilfe einer Fiedel und eines Fiedelbogens die Tagespredigt. Schließlich wird die faulige Idee nach einem wilden Trauermarsch angemessen beerdigt. 

Seien Sie Teil dieses Spektakels! 
Während eines achttägigen offenen Workshops, der der Performance vorausgeht, können Sie mithelfen, die Puppen für die Parade zu bauen und die Choreografie zu proben. Bringen Sie Ihren Lieblingsreim mit und ergänzen Sie Nachrichten, die die aktuelle Situation prägen… 


Programm
12.09.–19.09.2018, täglich 13:00–16:00, 18:30–21:00  
Helmut List Halle, Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a, 8020 Graz

Aufführung
20.09.2018, 17:00, Europaplatz – Keplerstraße – Mariahilferplatz


Haben Sie Fragen? Bitte wenden Sie sich an breadandpuppet@steirischerherbst.at
Zögern Sie nicht, spontan vorbeizuschauen oder sich per E-Mail anzumelden.

Englisch, deutsche Übersetzung möglich

Freier Eintritt

Related
Volksfronten
The Underneath the Above Parade #1 (2018)
Performance