Jasmina Cibic deals with the significance of politically motivated endowments in art history and the history of architecture, especially in times of reconstruction after societal moments of crisis, in her video installation The Gift—Act I​ (2019). Also in Graz there is persistent rumour that the Künstlerhaus was a “farewell gift” by the British allies in the post-war era. In the context of Jasmina Cibic’s artistic positions, Hansjörg Weidenhoffer from the Antiquities and Monuments Office of Styria will be our guest at the Künstlerhaus. He will share interesting facts and anecdotes about monuments and bestowals in Graz. A discussion on the significance of monuments for the cityscape and the inhabitants of Graz will follow this “Focus”-tour.

The format “In Focus” devotes an hour examining the work of one single artist in detail and investigates this position in conversation with external experts of various fields of expertise. The tours are included in the festival pass. You can book your tour at the Office of Open Questions of steirischer herbst and online.


Dr. Hansjörg Weidenhoffer (*1965 Graz, lives in Graz) earned his doctoral degree in art history and works for the Antiquities and Monuments Office of Styria. Moreover, he is a lecturer at the University of Graz and at the Technical University Graz.

11.10.19, 16:00

Meeting point:
Office of Open Questions
Kaiser-Josef-Platz 4, 8010 Graz
partly ♿
t +43 664 24 500 89

Curated by Künstlerhaus Graz

Jasmina Cibic behandelt in ihrer Videoinstallation Das Geschenk – 1. Akt (2019) die Bedeutung von politisch motivierten Schenkungen der Kunst- und Architekturgeschichte, im Besonderen in Zeiten des Wiederaufbaus nach gesellschaftlichen Krisenmomenten. Auch in Graz hält sich hartnäckig das Gerücht, das Künstlerhaus sei ein „Abschiedsgeschenk“ der britischen Alliierten in der Nachkriegszeit gewesen. Im Kontext zur künstlerischen Position Jasmina Cibics ist Hansjörg Weidenhoffer vom Bundesdenkmalamt Abteilung Steiermark im Künstlerhaus zu Gast. Er wird Wissenswertes und Anekdotisches über Denkmäler und Schenkungen der Stadt Graz berichten. Eine Diskussion über die Bedeutung dieser Denkmäler für das Grazer Stadtbild und die Bevölkerung schließt sich an diese Fokus-Führung an.

Das Format „Im Fokus“ nimmt jeweils eine Stunde lang eine künstlerische Position unter die Lupe und erforscht diese im Gespräch mit externen Expert*innen diverser Fachrichtungen. Die Touren sind im Festival-Pass inkludiert. Sie können Ihre gewünschte Tour jederzeit im Büro der Offenen Fragen oder online buchen.


Dr. Hansjörg Weidenhoffer (*1965 Graz, lebt in Graz) ist promovierter Kunsthistoriker und im Bundesdenkmalamt der Steiermark tätig. Außerdem ist er Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität Graz und an der Technischen Universität Graz.

11.10.19, 16:00

Treffpunkt:
Büro der Offenen Fragen
Kaiser-Josef-Platz 4, 8010 Graz
teilweise ♿
t +43 664 24 500 89

Kuratiert vom Künstlerhaus Graz