In his piece Putin’s Happy (2019), Jeremy Deller deals with the misguided patriotism that eventually led to the Brexit-referendum. The artist investigates British national myths as well as the political history of his country. The repeated linguistic use of certain expressions in reference to Brexit in the media influenced the perception of the issue and contributed to the forming of certain stereotypes. Paige Baralija from the department of English at the University of Graz is the guest of this “Focus”-tour and will provide insight into the way the Brexit was discussed in British media and the consequences of “framing.”

The format “In Focus” devotes an hour examining the work of one single artist in detail and investigates this position in conversation with external experts of various fields of expertise. The tours are included in the festival pass. You can book your tour at the Office of Open Questions of steirischer herbst and online.


Paige Baralija MA (*1990 Kosovo, lives in Graz) studied English and American studies at the University of Graz. Since 2017 she has been teaching there in the field of theoretical and applied linguistics and language training. She is currently enrolled in a doctorate at the University of Graz and explores the representation of Hispanic characters in entertainment media. Last summer semester she held a course on approaches of cultural studies in linguistics, which focused on British media and its representation of the Brexit.

4.10.19, 16:00

Meeting point:
Office of Open Questions
Kaiser-Josef-Platz 4, 8010 Graz
partly ♿
t +43 664 24 500 89

Curated by Künstlerhaus Graz

Jeremy Deller setzt sich in seiner Arbeit Putin’s Happy (2019) mit dem fehlgeleiteten Patriotismus auseinander, der am Ende zum Ergebnis des Brexit-Referendums geführt hat. Der Künstler erforscht britische Nationalmythen sowie die politische Geschichte seines Landes. Die wiederholte sprachliche Verwendung bestimmter Ausdrücke im Bezug auf den Brexit in den Medien beeinflusste die Wahrnehmung der Thematik und trug zur Bildung gewisser Stereotypen bei. Paige Baralija vom Institut für Anglistik der Universität Graz ist Gast dieser Fokus-Führung und wird einen Einblick darin gewähren, in welcher Form der Brexit in den britischen Medien besprochen wurde und welche Auswirkungen dieses „Framing“ haben kann.

Das Format „Im Fokus“ nimmt jeweils eine Stunde lang eine künstlerische Position unter die Lupe und erforscht diese im Gespräch mit externen Expert*innen diverser Fachrichtungen. Die Touren sind im Festival-Pass inkludiert. Sie können Ihre gewünschte Tour jederzeit im Büro der Offenen Fragen oder online buchen.


Paige Baralija MA (*1990 Kosovo, lebt in Graz) studierte Anglistik und Amerikanistik an der Universität Graz. Seit 2017 ist sie dort als Vortragende im Bereich theoretische und angewandte Sprachwissenschaft und Sprachausbildung tätig. Zurzeit absolviert sie ihr Doktoratsstudium an der Universität Graz und untersucht die Darstellung von hispanischen Charakteren in Unterhaltungsmedien. Im vergangenen Sommersemester hielt sie eine Lehrveranstaltung zu kulturwissenschaftlichen Ansätzen in der Sprachwissenschaft ab, die britische Medien und die darin vermittelte Darstellung des Brexit im Fokus hatte.

4.10.19, 16:00

Treffpunkt:
Büro der Offenen Fragen
Kaiser-Josef-Platz 4, 8010 Graz
teilweise ♿
t +43 664 24 500 89

Kuratiert vom Künstlerhaus Graz