Giacconi’s performance in public space vaguely resembles the work of young street vendors of newspapers without a fixed newsstand who cried out daily headlines in the old days. Using this format, Giacconi deconstructs the “10 Commandments for Repatriants,” a set of practical tips taken from a historical leaflet for those who opted to relocate from Southern Tyrol to the Reich. Playing with fiction, abstraction, and the historical present, he creates a constellation between two points in time, examining the contemporary situation through the lens of a past event.


Riccardo Giacconi (1985, San Severino Marche, Italy) is an artist whose practice is often based on historical research and explores complex narratives. In films, performances, and installations, he investigates the dislocations and shifting borders of 20th-century history. Giacconi lives in Milan.

20.9.19, 10:00–12:00

Duration: ca. 25 min., intermittent

Schloßbergplatz

8010 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Google Maps

In German

Free access

Cocommissioned and coproduced by steirischer herbst ’19 and Grazer Kunstverein 

Supported by the Directorate-General for Contemporary Art and Architecture and Urban Peripheries of the Italian Ministry for Cultural Heritage and Activities in the context of the Italian Council 2019 program 

Performance: Ronja Mussbacher 

In collaboration with Carteles La Linterna (Cali), Franco Citterio (Compagnia Marionettistica Carlo Colla e Figli), Herlyng Ferla, Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Giulia Marzin, Verena Rastner (ar/ge kunst), Katja Renzler, Stadtarchiv Innsbruck, Ina Tartler (Vereinigte Bühnen Bozen), Tiroler Landesarchiv, and Carolina Valencia Caicedo

Riccardo Giacconi

Merkblatt (2019)
Performance

Giacconis Performance spielt auf die Arbeit junger Zeitungsverkäufer*innen ohne Zeitungsstand an, die früher tagesaktuelle Nachrichten schreiend proklamierten. Dieses Format bemühend, dekonstruiert er zugleich die „10 Gebote für Umsiedler“, ein historisches Merkblatt, das an Optanten aus Südtirol bei ihrer Rückkehr „heim ins Reich“ ausgehändigt wurde. Giacconi spielt mit Fiktion, Abstraktion und dem Erzählen im historischen Präsens und verbindet die beiden mehr als siebzig Jahre auseinanderliegenden Zeitpunkte miteinander. Unsere heutigen Verhältnisse werden dabei durch die Linse eines vergangenen Ereignisses betrachtet.


Riccardo Giacconi (1985, San Severino Marche, Italien) ist ein Künstler, dessen Praxis oft auf historischen Recherchen beruht und der die Komplexität narrativer Formen erforscht. In seinen Filmen, Performances und Installationen untersucht er Verwerfungen und Grenzverschiebungen in der Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Riccardo Giacconi lebt in Mailand.

20.9.19, 10:00–12:00

Dauer: ca. 25 min., wiederkehrend

Schloßbergplatz

8010 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

Google Maps

Deutsch

Frei zugänglich

In Auftrag gegeben und koproduziert von steirischer herbst ’19 und Grazer Kunstverein

Unterstützt vom Generalkonsulat für Zeitgenössische Kunst und Architektur und Urbane Peripherien des Italienischen Ministeriums für kulturelles Erbe und kulturelle Aktivitäten im Rahmen des Italian Council Programms 2019 

Performance: Ronja Mussbacher 

In Zusammenarbeit mit Carteles La Linterna (Cali), Franco Citterio (Compagnia Marionettistica Carlo Colla e Figli), Herlyng Ferla, Künstlerhaus Büchsenhausen, Giulia Marzin, Verena Rastner (ar/ge kunst), Katja Renzler, Stadtarchiv Innsbruck, Ina Tartler (Vereinigte Bühnen Bozen), Tiroler Landesarchiv und Carolina Valencia Caicedo