Prenning’s Garten encompasses a guesthouse, the KulturPension Prenning, and the historical building known as Landhaus Feuerlöscher, which also carries the symbolic name “House of the Resistance.” During the period of Austrian fascism and National Socialism it housed a group of intellectuals and artists who engaged in civil resistance against the regime.

For the past ten years the nonprofit organization prenninger gespräche has been dedicated to cultivating this historical memory. In conjunction with steirischer herbst ’19, Prenning’s Garten hosts the exhibition Sculptures in Exile, presenting objects that had no designated place when they were created. The tour through the open-air exhibition comprises ten stations, where the history of each individual object is told. The aim is to offer these works a permanent place in Prenning’s Garten once the festival is over.


Station 1
zweintopf
Langer Atem

On Tiananmen Square in 1989 students erected a sculpture made of lightweight materials, the Goddess of Democracy. The demonstration was struck down with bloody force by the communist system, and the statue was destroyed. Carrying the ideas inherent to the sculpture forward, zweintopf rebuilds it in the garden. Here democracy stands as a fragile framework that must be tirelessly maintained by all.


Station 2
Joachim Baur
Return—Give Back the Gold of the Earth

In 2013 Joachim Baur commemorated the victims of the Nazi concentration camps with a symbolic action. As atonement he returned the gold that was removed from the prisoners—and that most likely still circulates as recycled gold—to the earth in the form of a melted-down nugget. A stele marks its burial place.


Station 3
Bazon Brock
All This Thinking Leaves Its Traces

Bazon Brock’s intellectual world is centered around the relationship between spirituality and rationality. His Denkerei, a place for culture innovation that existed in Berlin for eight years, closed its doors in April 2019. Since then it has functioned as a mobile cultural institution, which through Brock’s stay in Prenning left behind a personal footprint and offers an open invitation for discussion during steirischer herbst ’19.


Station 4
Joachim Baur
Bubbling Well, Lapping Waves, Burning Mind

Joachim Baur’s phonetically inspired work plays on the similarity between the words Brunnen (well) and Brennen (burn) in German, and it brings together a kind of “bubbling up from the depths” and a way of tapping energy from water and fire that defies nature. The work entails references to the local Übelbach, a stream and life-giving source of water, and the courage to support civil resistance.


Station 5
Ernst Logar
Monument to My Grandfather, Resistance Fighter

Ernst Logar has created a transportable monument to his grandfather and his fellow sufferers, who were shot for committing high treason shortly before the end of World War II. The work finds temporary exile in Prenning’s Garten. In 2014 he used this work as part of his artistic action Ort der Unruhe (Place of Unrest), in which he demonstrated in front of the Rossauer Barracks in Vienna. Up until now he has been unable to find a permanent location for the monument.


Station 6
Josef Schützenhöfer
Liberation Marker

Josef Schützenhöfer was unsuccessful in his attempts to have a plaque added to the war memorial in Pöllau in eastern Styria to commemorate the fallen American pilots who helped free Austria from the Nazis. A memorial sculpture was erected on the grounds of the Pöllau Castle, but it was vandalized multiple times and is now on view in Prenning’s Garten.


Station 7
Ed Gfrerer
Flight of Stairs

The sculpture associates the memory of the Prenninger Kreis (Prenninger Group) members who were forced to flee in 1938 and the more recent demolition of the emergency stairs that ran up the exterior of the landmark student dormitory located on Hafnerriegel. As the first exposed concrete building in Graz, the dormitory was exemplary of the 1960s and was built by Werkgruppe Graz. Members of the Prenninger Kreis fled to places including Trieste, Berlin, Sofia, Paris, Istanbul, Zurich, Rio de Janeiro, and Los Angeles.


Station 8
Richard Kriesche
Seeing Eye-to-Eye with Mary

To mark the year Graz was the European Cultural Capital in 2003, Richard Kriesche set up a glass elevator that was as high as the statue of Mary at the top of the column in the center of the square Am Eisernen Tor. His idea was to offer visitors the opportunity to experience something that had been reserved for a select few. The elevator was later taken down, purchased by the city of Hartberg, and arrived at its current location in the Ökopark. A plaque owned by the artist explains the significance of the project.


Station 9
Prenninger Kreis
Objects

During the Nazi period the villa owned by the Feuerlöscher family became a meeting point for the Prenninger Kreis and thus also a haven for artists and writers. This group of individuals who were persecuted, prohibited from publishing, forced to emigrate, jailed, or even executed are commemorated through their portraits and biographies. The nonprofit organization prenninger gespräche addresses the theme of civil resistance through exhibitions, publications, and artistic activities.


Station 10
Herbert Eichholzer, Anna-Lülja Praun, and Ernst Ritter
Klump

KulturPension Prenning invites visitors to view a collection of wooden toys that was first shown in the Grazer Kunstgewerbemuseum in 1935. It is unusual that at the time artists studied how to design “good toys,” which even then were considered to have completely disappeared from the market. The intention is to reproduce the original series, which is now in a private collection.

7.9.–13.10.19

Exhibition

Prenning’s Garten
Übelbacherstraße 161
8121 Deutschfeistritz

Google Maps

Open by appointment only. 
To arrange a visit, please call
t +43 (0)664 411 36 68.

Free admission
Sturdy footwear is advised

Opening and performance: 7.9., 17:00
Installing the sculpture Langer Atem

Tours with the curators: 
13.9., 20.9., 27.9., 16:00

Artists talk: 13.10., 16:00

Artists: Joachim Baur, Bazon Brock, Ed Gfrerer, Richard Kriesche, artist group Herbert Eichholzer, Anna-Lülja Praun †, Ernst Ritter †, Ernst Logar, Prenninger Kreis, Josef Schützenhöfer, and zweintopf
Curated by Günter Eisenhut, Eugen Gross, and Emil Gruber

In cooperation with prenninger gespräche, Steirische Kulturinitiative, and Universitätskulturzentrum UNIKUM Klagenfurt

Supported by steirischer herbst ’19

prenninger gespräche

Skulpturen im Exil

Prenning’s Garten beherbergt die KulturPension Prenning und das historische Landhaus Feuerlöscher. Dieses trägt auch den symbolischen Namen „Haus des Widerstands“, da es in der Zeit des Austrofaschismus und des Nationalsozialismus eine Gruppe von Intellektuellen und Künstler*innen beherbergt hatte, die im zivilen Widerstand gegen das herrschende Regime standen.

Seit zehn Jahren widmen sich die prenninger gespräche der Erinnerungskultur. Im Rahmen des steirischen herbst ’19 wird die Ausstellung Skulpturen im Exil eingerichtet, die Objekte zeigt, die keinen festen Platz am Ort ihrer Entstehung fanden. In dem aus zehn Stationen bestehenden Parcours durch das Freigelände werden die von Ortswechseln geprägten Entstehungsgeschichten der Skulpturen erzählt. Es wird beabsichtigt, den Objekten auch über das Festival hinaus einen Platz in Prenning’s Garten anzubieten.


Station 1
zweintopf
Langer Atem

Am Tian’anmen-Platz, dem Platz des Himmlischen Friedens in Peking, errichteten Studenten im Jahr 1989 aus leichten Materialien die Göttin der Demokratie. Die Demonstration wurde vom kommunistischen System blutig niedergeschlagen und die Statue zerstört. zweintopf denkt die Idee dieser Skulptur weiter und lässt sie im Skulpturengarten wiedererstehen: Demokratie als fragile Hülle, die gemeinsam und unermüdlich aufrechterhalten werden muss.


Station 2
Joachim Baur
Return – Gold der Erde zurückgeben

Im Jahr 2013 gestaltete Joachim Baur eine Aktion, mit der er an die Opfer der Konzentrationslager in der NS-Zeit erinnern wollte. Als Sühne gab er symbolisch das Zahngold, das Insassen herausgebrochen wurde und möglicherweise im zirkulierenden Gold recycelt ist, als geschmolzenes Nugget der Erde zurück. Eine Stele markiert den dazugehörigen Ort.


Station 3
Bazon Brock
Denkerei hinterlässt Spuren

Bazon Brocks Gedankenwelt kreist um das Verhältnis von Spiritualität und Rationalität. Seine seit acht Jahren in Berlin eingerichtete Denkerei, ein Ort des kulturellen Aufbruchs, wurde im April 2019 geschlossen. Seitdem ist sie eine mobile Kultureinrichtung, die durch Brocks Wirken in Prenning einen persönlichen Fußabdruck hinterlassen hat und während des steirischen herbst zum Diskurs einlädt.


Station 4
Joachim Baur
Brunnen-, Meeresrauschen und Hirnbrennen

Die Ähnlichkeit der Wörter „Brunnen“ und „brennen“ veranlasste Joachim Baur zu einer phonetischen Arbeit, in der Rauschen aus der Tiefe mit einer die Natur überwindenden Energiegewinnung durch Wasser und Feuer zusammengedacht wird. Örtliche Bezüge zum einst lebenspendenden Übelbach sind gegeben, aber auch zur Courage der Unterstützung des zivilen Widerstands.


Station 5
Ernst Logar
Denkmal für meinen widerständigen Großvater

Dem kurz vor Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs in Graz wegen Hochverrats erschossenen Großvater und seinen Leidensgenossen hat Ernst Logar ein fahrbares Denkmal gewidmet, das in Prenning’s Garten nun ein temporäres Exil erhält. 2014 hat er mit diesem in der künstlerischen Aktion Ort der Unruhe vor der Wiener Rossauer Kaserne demonstriert, konnte aber für das Denkmal bis heute keinen dauerhaften Standort finden.


Station 6
Josef Schützenhöfer
Liberation Marker

Josef Schützenhöfer bemühte sich erfolglos darum, am Kriegerdenkmal in Pöllau in der Oststeiermark eine Inschrift für jene im Zweiten Weltkrieg in der Oststeiermark zu Tode gekommenen amerikanischen Flieger anzubringen, die an der Befreiung Österreichs von den Nationalsozialisten beteiligt gewesen waren. Im Pöllauer Schlosspark wurde eine Erinnerungsskulptur aufgestellt, die mehrmals beschädigt wurde und jetzt in Prenning’s Garten gezeigt wird.


Station 7
Ed Gfrerer
Flucht-Stiege

Die Skulptur verbindet die Erinnerung an die 1938 zur Flucht veranlassten Mitglieder des Prenninger Kreises mit dem Abbruch der Fluchtstiege des Studentenhochhauses am Hafnerriegel. Dieses Zeitzeugnis der 1960er-Jahre war der erste Sichtbetonbau in Graz, der von der Werkgruppe Graz errichtet worden war. Die Mitglieder des Prenninger Kreises flüchteten unter anderem nach Triest, Berlin, Sofia, Paris, Istanbul, Zürich, Rio de Janeiro oder Los Angeles.


Station 8
Richard Kriesche
Auf Augenhöhe mit Maria

Richard Kriesche errichtete im Jahr der Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt Graz 2003 am Eisernen Tor einen verglasten Lift, der genauso hoch wie die auf einer Säule stehende Maria ist. Mit diesem wollte er beim Aufstieg den Besucher*innen die Möglichkeit bieten, eine besondere Erfahrung zu machen, die einst nur wenigen Auserwählten zugedacht gewesen war. Der Lift wurde abgetragen, von der Stadt Hartberg erworben und fand im Ökopark seinen jetzigen Standort. Eine Tafel aus dem Besitz des Künstlers verweist auf die Bedeutung des Projekts.


Station 9
Prenninger Kreis
Exponenten

Das Anwesen der Familie Feuerlöscher war in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus Treffpunkt des Prenninger Kreises und somit eine Fluchtinsel für widerständige Kulturschaffende. Diese verfolgten, mit Publikationsverbot belegten, zur Emigration gezwungenen, inhaftierten oder hingerichteten Mitglieder werden hier mit Porträts und Biografien gewürdigt. Die prenninger gespräche thematisieren in Ausstellungen, Publikationen und künstlerischen Aktivitäten die Auseinandersetzung mit dem zivilen Widerstand.


Station 10    
Herbert Eichholzer, Anna-Lülja Praun und Ernst Ritter
Klump

Die KulturPension Prenning lädt zur Besichtigung einer Sammlung von Holzspielzeug ein, das erstmals 1935 im Grazer Kunstgewerbemuseum gezeigt wurde. Ungewöhnlich ist, dass Künstler*innen sich damals mit dem Entwurf von „gutem Spielzeug“ befasst hatten, das schon ganz vom Markt verschwunden war. Es wird beabsichtigt, die im Privatbesitz befindliche originale Serie wieder aufzulegen.

7.9.–13.10.19

Ausstellung

Prenning’s Garten
Übelbacherstraße 161
8121 Deutschfeistritz

Google Maps

Öffnungszeiten nach telefonischer Vereinbarung unter 
t +43 (0) 664 411 36 68

Eintritt frei

Gutes Schuhwerk wird empfohlen.

Eröffnung mit Performance: 
7.9., 17:00 
Aufrichtung der Skulptur 
Langer Atem

Kurator*innenführungen: 
13.9., 20.9., 27.9., 16:00

Künstler*innengespräch: 13.10., 16:00

Künstler*innen: Joachim Baur, Bazon Brock, Ed Gfrerer, Richard Kriesche, Künstlergruppe Herbert Eichholzer, Anna-Lülja Praun †, Ernst Ritter †, Ernst Logar, Prenninger Kreis, Josef Schützenhöfer und zweintopf
Kuratiert von Günter Eisenhut, Eugen Gross und Emil Gruber

Eine Kooperation von prenninger gespräche mit der Steirischen Kulturinitiative und Universitätskulturzentrum UNIKUM Klagenfurt

Unterstützt von steirischer herbst ’19