Christof Ressi
Avatara

Opera

The desire to leave one’s own body and assume a different physical form is an archetype that traverses all eras and cultures. It is reflected in countless legends of gods, spirits, and other beings who can change their form at will and extends from Greek mythology to contemporary fantasy literature.  

With the development of interactive digital media, this utopia has become (virtual) reality: users often create their avatars not based on their actual physical appearance, but rather prefer to take on the bodies of superheroes, mythical creatures, animals, plants, or machines. This allows a person to overcome the limitations of their own body, age, and biological sex—at least temporarily—and assume an identity that corresponds to their most fundamental and individual wishes and fantasies. At the same time, major corporations are attempting to convert the promises of virtual reality into lucrative business models, conceiving the metaverse as a futuristic open-plan office, escapist living room set, or immersive shopping mall.

The opera Avatara centers on the question of human identity between physical and virtual reality. Two individuals without names, ages, or genders find themselves in different virtual worlds that seem strangely connected to one another. By chance (or fate?) they become aware of each other for a short time and leave their familiar environment to embark on an odyssey through space and time and find their counterparts—and in the process, themselves.

9.10., 19:30

MUMUTH (György Ligeti Hall), House of Music and Music Theatre (KUG)
Lichtenfelsgasse 14
8010 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

22/11 euros

Premiere

Director: Krzysztof Garbaczewski
Musical director: Wolfgang Hattinger
Stage and costumes: Yunnai Zhang
Human-computer interaction design: Alisa Kobzar
KUG students from PPCM Instrumental—rehearsal director: Dimitrios Polisoidis 
KUG students from PPCM Vokal—rehearsal director: Holger Falk

Premiere of the winner of the 8th Johann-Joseph-Fux-Opernkompositionswettbewerbs des Landes Steiermark at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz

In cooperation with the ORF musikprotokoll

Further performances within the framework of abo@MUMUTH on 10 and 12.10.22 at 18:00

Christof Ressi
Avatara

Oper

Der Wunsch, den eigenen Körper zu verlassen und eine andere physische Form anzunehmen, ist ein Archetyp, der sich durch alle Epochen und Kulturen zieht. Er spiegelt sich in den zahlreichen Legenden von Göttern, Geistern und anderen Wesen, die ihre Gestalt beliebig ändern können, und erstreckt sich von der griechischen Mythologie bis zur zeitgenössischen Fantasy-Literatur.

Mit der Entwicklung interaktiver digitaler Medien wurde diese Utopie zur (virtuellen) Realität: User:innen gestalten ihre Avatare oft nicht anhand ihres realen Aussehens, sondern schlüpfen lieber in die Körper von Superhelden, Fabelwesen, Tieren, Pflanzen oder Maschinen. Dies erlaubt den Menschen, die Beschränkungen des eigenen Körpers, Alters und biologischen Geschlechts – zumindest vorübergehend – zu überwinden und eine Identität anzunehmen, die den ureigensten Wünschen und Fantasien entspricht. Gleichzeitig versuchen Großunternehmen die Versprechungen der virtuellen Realität in lukrative Geschäftsmodelle umzuwandeln und entwerfen das Metaverse als futuristisches Großraumbüro, eskapistische Wohnzimmerkulisse oder immersive Shoppingmall.

Im Zentrum der Oper Avatara steht die Frage nach dem Wesen der menschlichen Identität im Spannungsfeld zwischen physischer und virtueller Realität. Zwei namen-, alters- und geschlechtslose Personen befinden sich in unterschiedlichen virtuellen Welten, die auf merkwürdige Weise miteinander verbunden scheinen. Durch Zufall (oder Schicksal?) werden sie einander für kurze Zeit gewahr und verlassen ihre vertraute Umgebung, um in einer Irrfahrt durch Raum und Zeit zu ihrem Gegenüber – und damit zu sich selbst – zu finden.

9.10., 19:30

MUMUTH (György-Ligeti-Saal), Haus für Musik und Musiktheater der Kunstuniversität Graz (KUG)
Lichtenfelsgasse 14
8010 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

22/11 Euro

Uraufführung

Inszenierung: Krzysztof Garbaczewski
Musikalische Leitung: Wolfgang Hattinger
Bühne und Kostüme: Yunnai Zhang
Human Computer Interaction Design: Alisa Kobzar
KUG-Studierende von PPCM Instrumental – Einstudierung: Dimitrios Polisoidis 
KUG Studierende von PPCM Vokal – Einstudierung: Holger Falk

Uraufführung des Preisträgerwerkes des 8. Internationalen Johann-Joseph-Fux-Opernkompositionswettbewerbs des Landes Steiermark an der Kunstuniversität Graz

In Kooperation mit dem ORF musikprotokoll

Weitere Aufführungen im Rahmen von abo@MUMUTH am 10. und 12.10.22 jeweils um 18:00