Natasha Barrett

The Forest Grows Restless
Premiere, Concert

British composer Natasha Barrett takes her inspiration from nature and our living environments: she wants to know how the world sounds and behaves, what systems and processes lie behind it, and what phenomena result from them. Since the late 1990s, her artistic work has been shaped by the musical application of ambient sound in the context of contemporary music.

The Forest Grows Restless is a 3D Ambisonics performance. The concert transports listeners to an old Norwegian forest in which reality and fiction come together, and in which the dialogs between nature and an old piano that has stood outside for many years are influenced by the seasons, a memory of the past and the climate of the future.

The performance begins in the reality of the forest, then travels through the storms of autumn into a winter with arctic winds and a final eruption of energy when the light goes out. In the spring, fissures begin to appear, exploding, struggling; the light returns, the rain is heavy, then softer, calmer; during the warm summer sunsets, the sense of time is extended. The midday sun strikes the faded paint, is reflected by metal and ricochets off the strings of the weather-beaten piano.

10.10., 18:30

Dom im Berg
Schloßbergplatz
8010 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Free admission


Composition: Natasha Barrett

The composition by Natasha Barrett was commissioned by ORF musikprotokoll.
The materials for this performance were created with the support of the Norwegian Cultural Council.

Natasha Barrett

The Forest Grows Restless
Uraufführung, Konzert

Die britische Komponistin Natasha Barrett lässt sich von der Natur und unseren Lebensräumen inspirieren: Sie möchte wissen, wie die Welt klingt und sich verhält, welche Systeme und Prozesse dahinterstecken und welche Phänomene daraus resultieren. Seit den späten 1990ern ist ihr künstlerisches Schaffen von der musikalischen Anwendung von Raumklang im Kontext der zeitgenössischen Musik bestimmt.

The Forest Grows Restless ist eine 3-D-Ambisonics-Performance. Das Konzert versetzt die Zuhörer:innen in einen alten norwegischen Wald, in dem sich Realität und Fiktion treffen und in dem die Gespräche zwischen der Natur und einem alten Klavier, das seit vielen Jahren im Freien steht, von den Jahreszeiten, einer Erinnerung an die Vergangenheit und dem Klima der Zukunft beeinflusst werden.

Die Performance beginnt in der Realität des Waldes und reist dann durch die Stürme des Herbstes in einen Winter mit arktischen Winden und einem letzten Ausbruch von Energie, wenn das Licht ausgeht. Im Frühling tauchen Risse auf, berstend, kämpfend, das Licht kehrt zurück, der Regen ist heftig, dann weicher, ruhiger; an den warmen Dämmerungsabenden des Sommers verlängert sich das Gefühl der Zeit. Die Mittagssonne schlägt in den verblassenden Lack ein, wird vom Blech reflektiert und prallt an den Saiten des verwitterten Klaviers ab.

10.10., 18:30

Dom im Berg
Schloßbergplatz
8010 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

Eintritt frei


Komposition: Natasha Barrett

Die Komposition von Natasha Barrett ist ein Auftragswerk des ORF musikprotokoll.
Die Materialien dieser Aufführung wurden mit Unterstützung des Norwegian Cultural Council erstellt.