Giacomo Veronesi

A Safe Space for Male Bodies (2022)
Performance

As distant as the Russian invasion of Ukraine may seem, the possibility of Europe becoming a theater of war has recently become more real than we ever feared—and with it the prospect of being called up. With his new work, the theater director and performing artist Giacomo Veronesi focuses on those who would be mobilized in wartime, namely young males fit for military service.

In his performance for the spaces of Neue Galerie Graz’s BRUSEUM, Veronesi collaborates with a group of men who have been trained in the Austrian military service, the Bundesheer, drawing upon his background in experimental theater and acting techniques. Creating a “safe space” in precarious times, he invites the audience to take a closer look at the shifting perception of the male, potentially militarized body in the context of an approaching war.

The performance challenges the images of heroism and masculinity associated with the military and explores the incomprehensible contradictions of young male bodies that might be trained, armed, and finally destroyed in the name of peace.

Giacomo Veronesi (1984, Milan, Italy) is a theater director, lecturer, and performance artist exploring experimental forms of theater and acting methods. He has been acting and creating performances at state theaters in the German-speaking world (Thalia Theater, Hamburg; Luzerner Theater; Schauspielhaus Zürich) as well as in the international independent scene, not only in theaters but often also in public spaces. Veronesi collaborates regularly with the Estonian directing duo Ene-Liis Semper and Tiit Ojasoo. He is currently conducting long-term research in collaboration with actors from all over the world to deal with the fundamental questions of theater in the context of acting training and theater workshops in cities such as Milan, Venice, Tel Aviv, and Tallinn.

8.10., 18:00, 19:30, 21:00
9.10., 18:00, 19:30, 21:00

BRUSEUM / Neue Galerie Graz
Neutorgasse 45 (historical entrance)
8010 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

16/12 euros
→  Tickets

With a ticket to the performance, you are cordially invited to visit the exhibition A War in the Distance at no additional cost on the same day (open until 22:00).

Education offer
Following the performance on 8.10.
Eat and Greet
In German
With Giacomo Veronesi, Sammy Van den Heuvel, Anita Kremm, Gábor Thury, and the performers
herbstbar at Feinkost Mild
Free of charge within the framework of the performance


Concept: Giacomo Veronesi, Sammy Van den Heuvel, Anita Kremm
Physical work: Giacomo Veronesi
Space: Sammy Van den Heuvel
Media design: Anita Kremm


Commissioned and produced by steirischer herbst ’22

With the kind support of Istituto Italiano di Cultura di Vienna

Giacomo Veronesi

A Safe Space for Male Bodies (2022)
Performance

So weit entfernt die russische Invasion in der Ukraine auch scheinen mag, die Möglichkeit, dass Europa zum Kriegsschauplatz wird, ist in letzter Zeit realer geworden, als wir je gedacht haben – und damit auch die Aussicht, zum Militär eingezogen zu werden. Der Theaterregisseur und darstellende Künstler Giacomo Veronesi stellt in seiner neuen Arbeit diejenigen in den Mittelpunkt, die im Kriegsfall mobilisiert würden, nämlich wehrfähige junge Männer.

In seiner Performance für die Räume des BRUSEUM arbeitet Veronesi mit einer Gruppe Männer, die beim Bundesheer ausgebildet wurden, und greift dabei auf seine Erfahrungen mit experimentellem Theater und Schauspieltechniken zurück. Indem er einen „geschützten Raum“ in unsicheren Zeiten schafft, lädt er das Publikum dazu ein, die sich verändernde Wahrnehmung des männlichen, potenziell militarisierten Körpers im Kontext eines nahenden Krieges genauer zu betrachten.

Die Performance stellt die mit dem Militär verbundenen Bilder von Heldentum und Männlichkeit infrage und erforscht die unverständlichen Widersprüche junger männlicher Körper, die im Namen des Friedens ausgebildet, bewaffnet und schließlich zerstört werden könnten.

Giacomo Veronesi (1984, Mailand, Italien) ist ein Theaterregisseur, Dozent und Performancekünstler, der sich mit experimentellen Theaterformen und Schauspielmethoden beschäftigt. Er inszeniert und kreiert Performances sowohl an staatlichen Theatern im deutschsprachigen Raum (Thalia Theater, Hamburg; Luzerner Theater; Schauspielhaus Zürich) als auch in der internationalen freien Szene, nicht nur in Theatern, sondern oft auch im öffentlichen Raum. Veronesi arbeitet regelmäßig mit dem estnischen Regieduo Ene-Liis Semper und Tiit Ojasoo zusammen. Aktuell forscht er in Zusammenarbeit mit Schauspieler:innen aus der ganzen Welt zu grundlegenden Fragen des Theaters im Rahmen von Schauspieltrainings und Theaterworkshops in Städten wie Mailand, Venedig, Tel Aviv und Tallinn.

8.10., 18:00, 19:30, 21:00
9.10., 18:00, 19:30, 21:00

BRUSEUM / Neue Galerie Graz
Neutorgasse 45 (historischer Eingang)
8010 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

16/12 Euro
→  Tickets

Mit einem Performanceticket sind Sie herzlich eingeladen, unsere Ausstellung Ein Krieg in der Ferne am jeweiligen Tag kostenfrei zu sehen (geöffnet bis 22:00).

Vermittlungsangebot
Im Anschluss an die Vorstellungen von 8.10.
Eat and Greet
In deutscher Sprache
Mit Giacomo Veronesi, Sammy Van den Heuvel, Anita Kremm, Gábor Thury und den Darstellern
herbstbar im Feinkost Mild
Kostenfrei im Rahmen der Vorstellung


Konzept: Giacomo Veronesi, Sammy Van den Heuvel, Anita Kremm
Körperarbeit: Giacomo Veronesi
Raum: Sammy Van den Heuvel
Mediendesign: Anita Kremm


In Auftrag gegeben und produziert von steirischer herbst ’22

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Italienischen Kulturinstituts Wien