Willem de Rooij

King Vulture (2022)

Willem de Rooij’s installation King Vulture comprises a set of four painted copies of photographs, commissioned by the artist to Yaohui Zhu and his team at the Yunxi Art Studio in Dafen, China. The original photographs depict works by 17th-century Dutch painter Jan Weenix (ca. 1640–1719) that feature the motif of a king vulture. This scavenger was first seen in Europe when it was imported from occupied territories in Dutch colonies in northern Brazil and Suriname. In Weenix’s works the king vulture is rendered an exoticized other floating in fictional cultural landscapes surrounded by imported animals as well as those local to the Netherlands.

The contrasts between reality and fiction, the local and the exotic in these paintings illustrate the moral, political, and artistic maneuvers of a young republic that was also a colonial power. For more than a decade, De Rooij has been researching Weenix, his cousin Melchior d’Hondecoeter (1635–1695), and their student Dirk Valkenburg (1675–1721).

His analysis of their interconnected bodies of work tells a story not only of the iconographic promotion of power in the Dutch empire, but also one of intergenerational exchange and shared authorship. It could be assumed that there are programmatic and economic overlaps between the 17th-century Dutch painting workshop, with its typically prolific and multi-authored output, and present-day practices in Dafen. By layering and exhibiting different types of reproduction techniques, De Rooij questions contemporary ethics around ownership and loan politics in the realm of public collections.

Willem de Rooij (1969, Beverwijk, Netherlands) investigates the production, contextualization, and interpretation of images through a variety of media. Appropriations and collaborations are fundamental to De Rooij’s artistic method, and his projects have stimulated new research in art history and ethnography. De Rooij is professor of fine art at the Städelschule, Frankfurt, since 2006, and advisor at the Rijksakademie, Amsterdam, since 2015. In 2016, he co-founded the BPA// Berlin Program for Artists and became a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was a Robert E. Fulton III fellow at Harvard University in 2004 and a DAAD fellow in Berlin in 2006. Together with Jeroen de Rijke, his collaborative partner from 1994 to 2006, he represented the Netherlands at the 2005 Venice Biennale.
Recent solo exhibitions include Portikus Frankfurt (2021), Delgosha Gallery, Tehran (2021), Kunstwerke Berlin (2017) and Consortium, Dijon (2015). Recent group exhibitions include Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2022); MAIIAM, Chiang Mai (2021); Museum of Contemporary Art, Busan (2021); John Hansard Gallery, Nottingham (2020); BDL Museum, Mumbai (2019); and the Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2018). De Rooij’s works can be found in the collections of Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; MUMOK, Vienna; Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin; Centre Pompidou, Paris; MOCA, Los Angeles; and MOMA, New York.

Four paintings by Yaohui Zhu and team for Yunxi Art Studio, Dafen, oil on canvas


Commissioned and produced by steirischer herbst ’22

With the generous support of the Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen

Willem de Rooij

King Vulture (2022)

Willem de Rooijs Installation King Vulture besteht aus vier gemalten Kopien von Fotos, die vom Künstler bei Yaohui Zhu und seinem Team beim Yunxi Art Studio in Dafen, China, in Auftrag gegeben wurden. Die Originalfotos zeigen Werke des niederländischen Malers Jan Weenix (ca. 1640–1719) aus dem 17. Jahrhundert mit dem Motiv eines Königsgeiers. Dieser Aasfresser war in Europa erstmals zu sehen, nachdem er aus Kolonien in Nordbrasilien und Surinam eingeführt worden war. Weenix stellt diesen Vogel als exotisiertes Andere dar, das in fiktiven Kulturlandschaften schwebt, umgeben von anderen importierten Tieren, aber auch von solchen, die in den Niederlanden heimisch waren.

Der Kontrast zwischen Realität und Fiktion, zwischen dem Lokalen und dem Exotischen in diesen Bildern veranschaulicht die moralischen, politischen und künstlerischen Manöver einer jungen Republik, die auch eine Kolonialmacht war. Seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt forscht De Rooij über Weenix, dessen Cousin Melchior d’Hondecoeter (1635–1695) und ihren Schüler Dirk Valkenburg (1675–1721).

Seine Analyse ihrer miteinander verbundenen Werke erzählt nicht nur die Geschichte der ikonografischen Förderung der Macht im niederländischen Kolonialreich, sondern auch eine Geschichte des Austauschs zwischen den Generationen und der gemeinsamen Autorschaft. Man könnte annehmen, dass es programmatische und wirtschaftliche Überschneidungen zwischen den niederländischen Malereiwerkstätten des 17. Jahrhunderts, mit ihrer üblicherweise hohen und vielseitigen Produktion, und den heutigen Praktiken in Dafen gibt. De Rooij hinterfragt durch die Überlagerung und Ausstellung verschiedener Reproduktionstechniken die zeitgenössische Ethik des Eigentums und der Leihpolitik von öffentlichen Sammlungen.

Willem de Rooij (1969, Beverwijk, Niederlande) untersucht die Produktion, Kontextualisierung und Interpretation von Bildern mithilfe einer Vielzahl von Medien. Aneignungen und Kollaborationen sind grundlegend für De Rooijs künstlerische Methode, und seine Projekte haben neue Forschung in Kunstgeschichte und Ethnografie angeregt. De Rooij ist seit 2006 Professor für bildende Kunst an der Städelschule, Frankfurt, und seit 2015 Berater an der Rijksakademie, Amsterdam. Im Jahr 2016 war er Mitbegründer des BPA// Berlin Program for Artists und wurde Mitglied der Königlich Niederländischen Akademie der Künste und Wissenschaften. Im Jahr 2004 war er Robert E. Fulton III Fellow an der Harvard University und 2006 DAAD-Stipendiat in Berlin. Zusammen mit Jeroen de Rijke, mit dem er von 1994 bis 2006 zusammenarbeitete, vertrat er die Niederlande 2005 auf der Biennale von Venedig.
Zu seinen jüngsten Einzelausstellungen zählen: Portikus Frankfurt (2021), Delgosha Gallery, Teheran (2021), Kunstwerke Berlin (2017) und Consortium, Dijon (2015). Zu den jüngsten Gruppenausstellungen gehören: Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2022); MAIIAM, Chiang Mai (2021); Museum of Contemporary Art, Busan (2021); John Hansard Gallery, Nottingham (2020), BDL Museum, Mumbai (2019) und das Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2018). De Rooijs Werke befinden sich in den Sammlungen des Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; MUMOK, Wien; Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin; Centre Pompidou, Paris; MOCA, Los Angeles, und MOMA, New York.

Vier Gemälde von Yaohui Zhu und seinem Team für das Yunxi Art Studio, Dafen, Öl auf Leinwand


In Auftrag gegeben und produziert von steirischer herbst ’22

Mit großzügiger Unterstützung des Instituts für Auslandsbeziehungen