Boris Nikitin

Magda Toffler: Versuch über das Schweigen (2022)
(Magda Toffler: Essay on Silence)
Performance

Silence shrouds many a family history, as survivors create a maximum distance between themselves and the experiences of the past. In his new play, director and author Boris Nikitin revisits the form of witnessing or “coming out” in a solo format developed in parallel to his big stage productions, which challenge the conventions of documentary theater. He addresses his own previously hidden family history—a result of the 20th century and its displacements.

The performance tells the story of Nikitin’s grandmother from Bratislava. After she died in 2009 at the age of 87, the author learned that she originally came from a Jewish family and had to hide in a barn in Eastern Slovakia for months in 1944–45, while most of her family lost their lives in the German death camps. She kept all this to herself, started a family, became a professor of chemistry. She hid her origin even from her daughters, one of whom was Boris Nikitinʼs mother.

The artist sets out to explore his grandmother’s silence, questioning the extent to which this gap between words is not only found in the many war and postwar stories of the 20th century, but is a mainstay of reality.

Boris Nikitin (1979, Basel, Switzerland) is a theater director and author, considered one of the most important voices in contemporary German-language theater. Since 2007, his productions, texts, and happenings have dealt with the representation of identity and reality, blurring the boundary between illusionist theater and performance, between documentary and propaganda. In 2017, Nikitin was awarded the City of Jena’s Jakob-Michael-Reinhold-Lenz-Prize for his complete works. In 2020, he received the Swiss Theater Prize. His piece Erste Staffel. 20 Jahre Big Brother was invited to the Mülheimer Theatertage in 2021 as one of the best German-language plays.

14.10., 15.10., 16.10., 19:00

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

16/12 euros
→  Tickets

Education offer
Following the performance on 14.10.
Eat and Greet
In German
With Boris Nikitin, Barbara Stelzl-Marx (researcher on the consequences of war), and Gábor Thury
Helmut List Halle (Halle C)
Free of charge within the framework of the performance


Direction, text, performance: Boris Nikitin
Production management: Annett Hardegen
Outside eye: Annett Hardegen, Matthias Meppelink


Commissioned by Kaserne Basel, Théatre Vidy-Lausanne, HAU Hebbel am Ufer Berlin, steirischer herbst ’22, Staatstheater Nürnberg, Frascati, Theater Chur, Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, and Omanut

Produced by Paraform Produktionen / It’s The Real Thing Studios

Supported by Fachausschuss Tanz und Theater BS/BL, Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia, Embassy of Switzerland in Austria, and Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation
The first version of this work was commissioned by Omanut.

Boris Nikitin

Magda Toffler: Versuch über das Schweigen (2022)
Performance

Schweigen umhüllt so manche Familiengeschichte. Die Überlebenden schaffen eine maximale Distanz zwischen sich und den Erfahrungen der Vergangenheit. In seinem neuen Stück greift der Regisseur und Autor Boris Nikitin die Form der Zeugenschaft oder des „Coming-out“ in einem Soloformat auf, das er parallel zu seinen großen Bühnenproduktionen entwickelt hat, die die Konventionen des Dokumentartheaters hinterfragen. Er setzt sich mit seiner eigenen, bisher verborgenen Familiengeschichte auseinander – ein Ergebnis des 20. Jahrhunderts und seiner Verdrängungen.

Die Performance erzählt von Nikitins Großmutter aus Bratislava. Nachdem diese 2009 im Alter von 87 Jahren gestorben war, erfuhr der Autor, dass sie ursprünglich aus einer jüdischen Familie stammte. 1944/45 musste sie sich monatelang in einer Scheune in der Ostslowakei verstecken, während der Großteil ihrer Familie in den deutschen Todeslagern ums Leben kam. Das alles behielt sie für sich, gründete eine Familie und wurde Professorin für Chemie. Sogar vor ihren Töchtern, von denen eine Boris Nikitins Mutter war, verbarg sie ihre Herkunft.

Der Künstler begibt sich auf die Suche nach ihrem Schweigen und fragt, inwieweit diese Lücke zwischen den Worten nicht nur in den vielen Kriegs- und Nachkriegsgeschichten des 20. Jahrhunderts zu finden ist, sondern eine tragende Säule der Realität darstellt.

Boris Nikitin (1979, Basel, Schweiz) ist Theaterregisseur und Autor. Er gilt als eine der wichtigsten Stimmen des zeitgenössischen deutschsprachigen Theaters. Seine Inszenierungen, Texte und Happenings setzen sich seit 2007 mit der Darstellung von Identität und Realität auseinander. Sie sind Grenzgänge zwischen Illusionstheater und Performance, zwischen Dokumentarischem und Propaganda. Für sein Gesamtwerk wurde Nikitin 2017 mit dem Jakob-Michael-Reinhold-Lenz-Preis für Dramatik der Stadt Jena ausgezeichnet. 2020 erhielt er den Schweizer Theaterpreis. Sein Stück Erste Staffel. 20 Jahre Big Brother wurde 2021 als eines der besten deutschsprachigen Stücke zu den Mülheimer Theatertagen eingeladen.

14.10., 15.10., 16.10., 19:00

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

16/12 Euro
→  Tickets

Vermittlungsangebot
Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung vom 14.10.
Eat and Greet
In deutscher Sprache
Mit Boris Nikitin und Barbara Stelzl-Marx
Helmut List Halle (Halle C)
Kostenfrei im Rahmen der Vorstellung


Regie, Text, Performance: Boris Nikitin
Produktionsmanagement: Annett Hardegen
Outside Eye: Annett Hardegen, Matthias Meppelink


In Auftrag gegeben von Kaserne Basel, Théatre Vidy-Lausanne, HAU Hebbel am Ufer Berlin, steirischer herbst ’22, Staatstheater Nürnberg, Frascati, Theater Chur, Ringlokschuppen Ruhr und Omanut

Produziert von Paraform Produktionen / It’s The Real Thing Studios

Unterstützt von Fachausschuss Tanz & Theater BS/BL, Schweizer Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia, Schweizerische Botschaft in Österreich und Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung
Die erste Fassung dieser Arbeit wurde von Omanut in Auftrag gegeben.