Zhanna Kadyrova

Harmless War (2022)

Outwardly, Zhanna Kadyrova’s sculptures repeat classic Post-Minimal shapes. But they are made of materials brought directly from Ukraine and damaged in the ongoing battles and rocket attacks there. Modified to fit the form of a generic artwork, they are coated, varnished, and polished so that very little remains of the textures of corrosion and destruction characterizing a war zone. Their specificity is lost in favor of an anonymous, essentially hollow theatrical form.

Kadyrova thus comments on how the war is glossed over and normalized—as is happening in the West right now, after an initial wave of solidarity. But she also incisively points to how the war is commodified as another hot topic in the art world—with its insatiable hunger for easily readable, smoothed-over artifacts.

Zhanna Kadyrova (1981, Brovary, Ukraine) works in a variety of disciplines such as sculpture, photography, video, and performance. Her practice is often site-specific and informed by the malleable and symbolic properties of urban building materials. Her works have been extensively exhibited worldwide, including exhibitions at Centre Pompidou and Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Bureau for Cultural Translations, Leipzig; Kunstraum Innsbruck; Ludwig Museum, Budapest; National Art Museum of Ukraine, Kyiv; Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw; and PinchukArtCentre, Kyiv (2012, 2013), where her first major retrospective will be held in 2023. Before the Russian war of aggression on Ukraine began, Kadyrova was based in Kyiv.

Metal, varnish


Commissioned by steirischer herbst ’22

Produced by steirischer herbst '22, Zhanna Kadyrova, KÖNIG GALERIE Berlin/Seoul/Vienna, and Galleria Continua

Zhanna Kadyrova

Harmless War (2022)

Nach außen hin wiederholen die Skulpturen von Zhanna Kadyrova klassische postminimale Formen. Hergestellt wurden sie allerdings aus Materialien, die direkt aus der Ukraine stammen und bei den anhaltenden Kämpfen und Raketenangriffen dort beschädigt wurden. Der Form eines generischen Kunstwerks angepasst, wurden sie glasiert, lackiert und poliert, sodass von den verrosteten und zerstörten Oberflächen, die ein Kriegsgebiet kennzeichnen, nur wenig übrig bleibt. Das Spezifische geht verloren zugunsten einer anonymen, im Grunde hohlen theatralischen Form.

Kadyrova reflektiert damit, wie der Krieg beiseitegeschoben und normalisiert wird – so wie es jetzt im Westen, nach einer anfänglichen Welle der Solidarität, geschieht. Aber sie verweist auch prägnant auf die Kommerzialisierung des Krieges als weiteres heißes Thema in der Kunstwelt – mit ihrem unstillbaren Hunger nach leicht lesbaren, geglätteten Artefakten.

Zhanna Kadyrova (1981, Brovary, Ukraine) arbeitet mit einer Vielzahl von Medien wie Skulptur, Fotografie, Video und Performance. Ihre Arbeiten sind oft ortsspezifisch und von den formbaren und symbolischen Eigenschaften städtischer Baumaterialien geprägt. Ihre Werke wurden weltweit ausgestellt, unter anderem im Centre Pompidou und im Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Büro für kulturelle Übersetzungen, Leipzig; Kunstraum Innsbruck; Ludwig Museum, Budapest; Nationalen Kunstmuseum der Ukraine, Kyjiw; Museum für Moderne Kunst in Warschau und PinchukArtCentre, Kyjiw (2012, 2013), wo 2023 ihre erste große Retrospektive stattfindet. Bevor der russische Angriffskrieg auf die Ukraine begann, lebte Kadyrova in Kyjiw.

Metall, Lack


In Auftrag gegeben von steirischer herbst ’22

Produziert von steirischer herbst ’22, Zhanna Kadyrova, KÖNIG GALERIE Berlin/Seoul/Vienna und Galleria Continua