Assaf Gruber

Never Come Back (2022)

Museum depots are places where things are kept out of sight, but also protected from all-too-schematic historical judgments. In his new film, Assaf Gruber continues his ongoing investigation of the backstage areas of art institutions to engage with Neue Galerie Graz’s holdings.

In the cage-like space of the repository, we see a naked musician working intensely on a composition. He is inspired by artists whose past belongs to a gray area between modernist aspirations and enthusiasm for Nazism, and whose works combine a taste for the exotic with local patriotism, religious fervor, and eroticism.

Our mysterious protagonist tentatively plays a familiar melody. It’s a song known to many of us, recognizable from dance floors across Europe—but how many of us have ever bothered to listen to its remarkably racist and imperialist lyrics?

Assaf Gruber (1980, Jerusalem, Israel) is a sculptor and filmmaker. His practice centers on the dynamic relationship between individuals and artistic institutions, which he explores in interrelated narrative films, graphical work, and sculpture. He has had solo exhibitions at, for example, the Berlinische Galerie / Museum of Modern Art (2018) and Ujazdowski Castle Centre for Contemporary Art, Warsaw (2018). His films have been featured at the Marseille International Film Festival (2022) and the Berlin International Film Festival (2016). He is currently a 2022/23 fellow of the Berlin Artistic Research Grant Programme.

HD video, stereo sound, 16′54″

Written and directed by Assaf Gruber
Actor and musician: Rudi Katholnig  
Line production: Eyal Vexler
Cinematography: Simon Veroneg
Editing: Janina Herhoffer and Assaf Gruber
Coordination with Neue Galerie Graz: Barbara Seyerl, Günther Holler-Schuster, Paul-Bernhard Eipper, Eva Schmartschan, Martin Pelzmann, Sebastian Sprenger, and Doris Psenicnik


Commissioned by steirischer herbst ’22

Produced by steirischer herbst ’22, Assaf Gruber, and Eyal Vexler

With the generous support of Artis and the Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen

Assaf Gruber

Never Come Back (2022)

Museumsdepots sind Orte, an denen Dinge außer Sichtweite aufbewahrt werden, aber auch vor allzu schematischen historischen Urteilen geschützt sind. In seinem neuen Film setzt Assaf Gruber seine Erkundung der Backstage-Bereiche von Kunstinstitutionen fort und widmet sich den Beständen der Neuen Galerie Graz.

Im käfigartigen Raum des Depots sehen wir einen nackten Musiker, der intensiv an einer Komposition arbeitet. Er ist inspiriert von Künstler:innen, deren Vergangenheit in einer Grauzone zwischen modernistischen Bestreben und einer Begeisterung für den Nationalsozialismus angesiedelt ist und deren Werke eine Vorliebe für das Exotische mit Lokalpatriotismus, religiöser Inbrunst und Erotik verbinden.

Unser geheimnisvoller Protagonist spielt zaghaft eine bekannte Melodie. Es ist ein Lied, das viele von uns von Tanzflächen in ganz Europa kennen – aber wie viele von uns haben sich jemals die Mühe gemacht, auf den bemerkenswert rassistischen und imperialistischen Text zu hören?

Assaf Gruber (1980, Jerusalem, Israel) ist ein Bildhauer und Filmemacher. Seine Praxis konzentriert sich auf die dynamische Beziehung zwischen Individuen und künstlerischen Institutionen, die er in zusammenhängenden narrativen Filmen, grafischen Arbeiten und Skulpturen erforscht. Er hatte Einzelausstellungen unter anderem in der Berlinischen Galerie / Museum für Moderne Kunst (2018) und im Ujazdowski Castle Centre for Contemporary Art, Warschau (2018). Seine Filme wurden auf dem Internationalen Filmfestival Marseille (2022) und den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin (2016) gezeigt. Derzeit ist er Stipendiat 2022/23 des Berliner Förderprogramms Künstlerische Forschung.

HD-Video, Stereoton, 16′54″

Buch und Regie: Assaf Gruber
Schauspieler und Musiker: Rudi Katholnig
Herstellungsleiter: Eyal Vexler
Kamera: Simon Veroneg
Schnitt: Janina Herhoffer und Assaf Gruber
Koordination mit der Neuen Galerie Graz: Barbara Seyerl, Günther Holler-Schuster, Paul-Bernhard Eipper, Eva Schmartschan, Martin Pelzmann, Sebastian Sprenger und Doris Psenicnik


In Auftrag gegeben von steirischer herbst ’22

Produziert von steirischer herbst ’22, Assaf Gruber und Eyal Vexler

Mit großzügiger Unterstützung von Artis und vom Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen