Josef Dabernig

Pastry Friday (2022)

An ominous atmosphere haunts the films of Josef Dabernig, including his newest. It shows a bright little moment in the uniform everyday overshadowed by high-rise apartments somewhere in Central Europe—a landscape whose infrastructures and inhabitants are slowly eroding under the pressures of a hard life.

In such a forbidding place, customers meet to have coffee and cake in a pastry shop. Not only prams but also pensioners’ walkers are parked by the door, as people from all generations congregate there on a Friday afternoon. The score unfolds to close-ups of the protagonists’ arms, hands, and faces, with cuts to the seductive sweets—moments of transgression rescued from court cultures and spread throughout the former empire, be it Austria, Hungary, or the Czech Republic, where the film was made.

Then and now, these comfort pastries represent short, delicious instances of life—aesthetic experiences in miniature, themselves a little suspect—counteracting the overwhelming sense of threat and finitude that always dwells slightly beyond reality’s edges.

Josef Dabernig (1956, Kötschach-Mauthen, Austria) is an artist and filmmaker. Initially trained as a sculptor, he has been producing short films since the mid-1990s. They often use the same cast of characters to explore the minor magic of everyday life through a highly conceptual filmic lens. Dabernig’s work has been featured internationally in solo exhibitions, group exhibitions, and biennials, including Manifesta 10 (2014), St. Petersburg; Bergen Assembly (2013), 9th Gwangju Biennale (2012); 50th and 49th Venice Biennials (2003 and 2001); and Manifesta 3 (2000), Ljubljana. His work is held in public collections and is regularly featured at film festivals such as International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, Toronto International Film Festival, and Venice Film Festival. Dabernig lives in Vienna.

HD video, stereo sound, 11′48″

Written, directed, edited, and produced by Josef Dabernig
Production assistant Czech Republic: Ivana Hrončeková
Camera: Christian Giesser
Sound design: Michael Palm
Cast (in order of appearance): Štefan Kurbel, Hedwig Saxenhuber (service), Kurt Fellinger, Georg Schöllhammer (table 5), Lore Dabernig, Otto Dabernig, Isabella Hollauf (table 4), Jolana Chalupová, René Chalupová, Ivana Hrončeková (table 3), Markéta Lisá, Filip Cenek, Matěj Cenek, Jakub Cenek (table 2), Dobroslav Chrobák, Emilie Chrobáková, Ondřej Chrobák, Jana Písaříková, Jiří Valoch (table 1)
Location: Cukrárna Severka, Blansko
Film development and scan: cinegrell GmbH
Color grading: Matthias Tomasi
Re-recording mixer: Alexander Koller
Postproduction: The Grand Post


Commissioned and coproduced steirischer herbst ’22

Supported by the Federal Ministry of Arts and Culture, Civil Service and Sport (BMKOES) / Innovative Film Austria

Josef Dabernig

Pastry Friday (2022)

Eine bedrohliche Atmosphäre durchzieht die Filme von Josef Dabernig, auch seinen neuesten. Er zeigt einen kleinen, lichten Moment im gleichförmigen Alltag, der irgendwo in Mitteleuropa von Hochhäusern überschattet wird – eine Landschaft, deren Infrastruktur und Bewohner:innen langsam unter dem Druck eines schweren Lebens zerbröckeln.

An einem solch abweisenden Ort treffen sich Leute zu Kaffee und Kuchen in einer Konditorei. Vor der Tür stehen nicht nur Kinderwagen, sondern auch Rollatoren von Rentner:innen, die sich an einem Freitagnachmittag mit Menschen aller Generationen treffen. Die Filmmusik entwickelt sich zu Nahaufnahmen von Armen, Händen und Gesichtern der Protagonist:innen, mit Schnitten zu den verführerischen Mehlspeisen – Momente der Grenzüberschreitung, die aus der höfischen Kultur gerettet und in der gesamten ehemaligen Monarchie verbreitet wurden, sei es in Österreich, Ungarn oder Tschechien, wo der Film gedreht wurde.

Damals wie heute repräsentieren diese Süßigkeiten kurze, köstliche Momente des Lebens – ästhetische Erfahrungen in Miniaturform, selbst ein wenig verdächtig –, die dem überwältigenden Gefühl der Bedrohung und der Endlichkeit entgegenwirken, das immer hinter den Rändern der Realität lauert.

Josef Dabernig (1956, Kötschach-Mauthen, Österreich) ist ein Künstler und Filmemacher. Ursprünglich als Bildhauer ausgebildet, produziert er seit Mitte der 1990er-Jahre Kurzfilme. Sie verwenden oft die gleichen Darsteller:innen, um die kleine Magie des Alltags durch eine hochgradig konzeptuelle filmische Linse zu erkunden. Dabernigs Arbeiten wurden international in Einzelausstellungen, Gruppenausstellungen und auf Biennalen gezeigt, darunter die Manifesta 10 (2014), St. Petersburg; die Bergen Assembly (2013); die 9. Gwangju Biennale (2012); die 50. und 49. Biennale in Venedig (2003 und 2001) und die Manifesta 3 (2000), Ljubljana. Seine Arbeiten befinden sich in öffentlichen Sammlungen und werden regelmäßig auf Filmfestivals wie den Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen, dem Toronto International Film Festival und den Filmfestspielen in Venedig gezeigt. Dabernig lebt in Wien.

HD-Video, Stereoton, 11′48″

Regie, Buch, Schnitt und Produktion: Josef Dabernig
Produktionsassistentin Tschechien: Ivana Hrončeková
Kamera: Christian Giesser
Sound Design: Michael Palm
Besetzung (in der Reihenfolge ihres Auftretens): Štefan Kurbel, Hedwig Saxenhuber (Service), Kurt Fellinger, Georg Schöllhammer (Tisch 5), Lore Dabernig, Otto Dabernig, Isabella Hollauf (Tisch 4), Jolana Chalupová, René Chalupová, Ivana Hrončeková (Tisch 3), Markéta Lisá, Filip Cenek, Matěj Cenek, Jakub Cenek (Tisch 2), Dobroslav Chrobák, Emilie Chrobáková, Ondřej Chrobák, Jana Písaříková, Jiří Valoch (Tisch 1)
Drehort: Cukrárna Severka, Blansko
Filmentwicklung und Scan: cinegrell GmbH
Farbkorrektur: Matthias Tomasi
Mischtonmeister: Alexander Koller
Postproduktion: The Grand Post


In Auftrag gegeben und koproduziert von steirischer herbst ’22

Unterstützt vom Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport / Innovative Film Austria