Gabriel Abrantes

Ornithes (Birds, 2022)

Gabriel Abrantes’s film was made in the aftermath of the earthquake that devastated Haiti in 2010. Taking the form of a magical-realist travelogue with elements of slapstick comedy, it follows a director who attempts to stage a faithful production of Aristophanes’s The Birds with locals.

The director imagines that the play might read as a story of colonial revolt. In the glaring sun of a village square, actors recite the ancient Greek comedy in the original while wearing carnival costumes made of papier-mâché, which in Haiti often satirize political figures.

The locals, however, do not accept the director’s premise. Instead, they tell and enact magical and tragic stories that might represent the economic malaise of a depressing postcolonial reality. Only, these supposedly authentic stories are in fact adaptations from The Arabian Nights, an originally anonymous collection of oral tales later reformulated for 18th-century European audiences.

Abrantes thus offers a comic comment on the preconceptions that artists bring along on their visits to places they do not know well enough, and whose context is more complex than they can understand.

Gabriel Abrantes (1984, North Carolina, USA) is an artist whose work revolves around film and painting. Many of his films explore postcolonial, gender, and identity issues, and play with absurdity, folklore, and humor. Abrantes’ films have premiered at the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs and the Semaine de la Critique—Cannes, Berlinale, Locarno Film Festival, the Venice Biennial, and the Toronto International Film Festival. His work has been exhibited at the Whitechapel Gallery and Tate Britain, London; the Palais de Tokyo, Paris; the MIT List Visual Arts Center, Boston; Kunst-Werke, Berlin; and Serralves Museum, Porto. He participated in the 32nd São Paulo Biennial, the 2016 Gran Bienal Tropical, Loíza, and the 2014 Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement, Geneva. He currently lives and works in Lisbon.

S16 mm film transferred to HD video, 18′

French/Patois with English subtitles


Produced by A Mutual Respect Productions
With the support of Guimarães Capital Europeia da Cultura

Gabriel Abrantes

Ornithes (Vögel, 2022)

Der Film von Gabriel Abrantes entstand nach dem Erdbeben, das Haiti 2010 verwüstete. Er hat die Form eines magisch-realistischen Reiseberichts mit Elementen einer Slapstickkomödie und folgt einem Regisseur, der mit Ortsansässigen eine originalgetreue Inszenierung von Aristophanes’ Die Vögel aufführen will.

Der Regisseur stellt sich vor, dass das Stück als Geschichte einer kolonialen Revolte gelesen werden könnte. In der gleißenden Sonne eines Dorfplatzes tragen die Schauspieler:innen die griechische Komödie im Original vor und tragen dabei Karnevalskostüme aus Pappmaschee, wie sie in Haiti oft genutzt werden, um Politiker:innen zu verspotten.

Die Haitianer:innen akzeptieren jedoch nicht die Prämisse des Regisseurs. Stattdessen erzählen und inszenieren sie magische und tragische Geschichten, die von der wirtschaftlichen Misere in einer deprimierenden postkolonialen Realität zu handeln scheinen. Nur sind diese vermeintlich authentischen Geschichten in Wirklichkeit Adaptionen von Erzählungen aus Tausendundeine Nacht, einer ursprünglich anonymen, mündlich überlieferten Textsammlung, die später für das europäische Publikum des 18. Jahrhunderts umformuliert wurde.

Abrantes liefert damit einen komischen Kommentar zu den Vorurteilen, die Künstler:innen mitbringen, wenn sie Orte besuchen, die sie nicht ausreichend kennen und deren Kontext komplexer ist, als sie begreifen.

Gabriel Abrantes (1984, North Carolina, USA) ist ein Künstler, dessen Werk sich auf Film und Malerei konzentriert. Viele seiner Filme beschäftigen sich mit postkolonialen, geschlechtsspezifischen und identitätsbezogenen Themen und spielen mit Absurdität, Folklore und Humor. Abrantes’ Filme wurden auf der Quinzaine des Réalisateurs und der Semaine de la Critique – Cannes, der Berlinale, dem Locarno Film Festival, der Biennale von Venedig und dem Toronto International Film Festival uraufgeführt. Seine Arbeiten wurden in der Whitechapel Gallery und der Tate Britain, London; dem Palais de Tokyo, Paris; dem MIT List Visual Arts Center, Boston; Kunst-Werke, Berlin und dem Serralves Museum, Porto, ausgestellt. Er nahm an der 32. Biennale von São Paulo, an der Gran Bienal Tropical 2016, Loíza, und an der Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement 2014, Genf, teil. Derzeit lebt und arbeitet er in Lissabon.

HD-Video-Transfer eines S16-mm-Films, 18′

Französisch/Patois mit englischen Untertiteln


Produziert von A Mutual Respect Productions
Mit Unterstützung von Guimarães Capital Europeia da Cultura