Theater im Bahnhof

Bares für Wahres (2021)
(You Tell, We Buy)
Indoor flea market with stories

As a grand finale to steirischer herbst ’21, the new production by Theater im Bahnhof stages a flea market and TV-like performance, inspired by a popular reality TV show.

Bares für Rares, literally “Cash for Rarities,” is an entertaining program on German television. Guests bring along used objects and antiquities for appraisal and to eventually sell them. In often awkward interactions, host Horst Lichter asks his guests to tell stories about objects they’ve brought along, only to cut them off rudely. Inspired by this apparent lack of interest Theater im Bahnhof provides a space for exactly those stories, shifting the focus from the material to the sentimental value of things.

By weaving complex narratives about objects and their owners into a multilayered performance, they comment on the parallel economy of used goods with surprising stories of provenance in a precarious reality. Both the objects and their stories are collected at a flea market held on the festival’s last weekend punctuated by narrative and theatrical interventions. The weekend culminates in a gala presenting a somewhat direct parody of the TV format, bluntly satirical and poetic at once.


Bio
Theater im Bahnhof (founded 1989, Graz) is a contemporary people’s theater. Its focus is on researching and writing its own productions for both the stage and public space, questioning Austrian identity between popular culture and tradition. The group is famous for their local engagement in Graz for over thirty years as well as their international performances at festivals such as Theater der Welt, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, and Impulse Theater Festival.

7.10., 17:30–19:00
8.10., 14:00–15:30

Collection facility open

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Google Maps

9.10., 10.10., 14:00–18:00

Bares für Wahres—Market

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Google Maps

10.10., 18:00

Bares für Wahres—Gala

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Google Maps


In German

16/12 euros (Gala)

→  Tickets


Team: Juliette Eröd, Rupert Lehofer, Johanna Hierzegger, Beatrix Brunschko, and the TiB ensemble
Costumes and props​: Georg Klüver-Pfandtner
Video: Stefan Schmid, AV Baby​
Sound: Herwig Thelen
Stagecraft: Moke Klengel
Lights: Tom Bergner
Direction: Ed. Hauswirth
Production: Sebastian Sprenger (sh), Lukas Kaiser (sh), Lena Rucker (TiB)


Commissioned by steirischer herbst ’21

Produced by Theater im Bahnhof in coproduction with steirischer herbst ’21

Theater im Bahnhof

Bares für Wahres (2021)
Hallenflohmarkt mit Geschichten

Als Finale des steirischen herbst inszeniert die neue Theaterproduktion des Theaters im Bahnhof einen Flohmarkt und eine Performance, inspiriert von einer beliebten Realityshow.

Bares für Rares ist eine Unterhaltungssendung im deutschsprachigen Fernsehen. Die Gäste bringen gebrauchte Gegenstände und Antiquitäten mit, um sie begutachten zu lassen und schließlich zu verkaufen. In oftmals unangenehmen Interaktionen fordert Moderator Horst Lichter seine Gäste auf, etwas über die mitgebrachten Gegenstände zu erzählen, um sie dann barsch zu unterbrechen. Inspiriert von Lichters offensichtlichem Desinteresse, bietet Theater im Bahnhof genau diesen Geschichten einen Raum und verlagert den Fokus vom materiellen auf den sentimentalen Wert der Dinge.

Indem sie komplexe Erzählungen über Objekte und ihre Besitzer:innen zu einer vielschichtigen Performance verweben, kommentieren sie mit überraschenden Herkunftsgeschichten aus einer prekären Realität die Schattenwirtschaft mit Gebrauchtwaren. Sowohl die Objekte als auch ihre Geschichten werden auf einem Flohmarkt gesammelt, der am letzten Wochenende des Festivals stattfindet und von erzählerischen und theatralen Interventionen unterbrochen wird. Das Wochenende gipfelt in einer Gala, die gewissermaßen eine direkte Parodie des TV-Formats darstellt – unverblümt satirisch und poetisch zugleich.


Bio
Das Theater im Bahnhof (gegründet 1989, Graz) ist ein zeitgenössisches Volkstheater. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Erforschung und Erarbeitung eigener Produktionen für die Bühne und den öffentlichen Raum, die die österreichische Identität zwischen Populärkultur und Tradition hinterfragen. Die Gruppe ist sowohl für ihr lokales Engagement in Graz seit über dreißig Jahren als auch für ihre internationalen Auftritte bei Festivals wie Theater der Welt, Kunstenfestivaldesarts und Impulse Theater Festival bekannt.

7.10., 17:30–19:00
8.10., 14:00–15:30

Sammelstelle offen

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

Google Maps

9.10., 10.10., 14:00–18:00

Bares für Wahres – Markt

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

Google Maps

10.10., 18:00

Bares für Wahres – Gala

Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a
8020 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

Google Maps


In deutscher Sprache

16/12 Euro (Gala)

→  Tickets


Team: Juliette Eröd, Rupert Lehofer, Johanna Hierzegger, Beatrix Brunschko und TiB-Ensemble
​Ausstattung​: Georg Klüver-Pfandtner
Video: Stefan Schmid, AV Baby​
Sound: Herwig Thelen
Technik: Moke Klengel
Licht: Tom Bergner
Endregie: Ed. Hauswirth
Produktion: Sebastian Sprenger (sh), Lukas Kaiser (sh), Lena Rucker (TiB)

In Auftrag gegeben von steirischer herbst ’21

Produziert von Theater im Bahnhof in Koproduktion mit steirischer herbst ’21