Reverend Billy and the Church of Stop Shopping

Necessary Interruption (2021)
Sermon and performance

Stop the shopocolypse! That is the message spread by Reverend Billy and the Church of Shop Shopping in their newly commissioned sermon and performance.

Be it drastic climate change or the rapid spread of global pandemics, the reasons for these crises lie in the unbridled demand for ever more consumer products. Resources thus squandered cannot be replaced, as becomes increasingly obvious. Yet despite a widespread sense of gloom and doom, the shopping continues like a party on the edge of a volcano. Capitalism forces us into two categories that transcend nationalism, regionalism, and identity: we are tourists, or we are refugees. Does anyone even notice? Or are we under the spell?

In this apocalyptic atmosphere, The Church of Stop Shopping and their spiritual “leader” Reverend Billy propose what they call a “necessary interruption.” A spectacle unto themselves, flamboyant, loud, American. You will see them as they move through the city of Graz, on the way from one sermon to another, awakening the hypnotized, creating rituals, and enacting muscular exorcisms. They come from the future with a message: we must reclaim ourselves, our choices, our relationship to the Earth, guided by our mentors—superstorms, wildfires, heatwaves, and droughts.


Bio
Reverend Billy and the Church of Stop Shopping is a radical performance community based in New York. Reverend Billy, a comic preacher portrayed by performer William (Billy) Talen, is accompanied by the Stop Shopping Choir, led by artistic director Savitri D. The group has worked together since the late 1990s, eventually becoming a familiar feature of the Occupy Wall Street protests in 2011 for their guerilla-style street interventions. They also regularly perform in more traditional settings.

17.9., 18.9., 14:00

Palais Attems
Sackstraße 17
8010 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Google Maps

17.9., 18.9., 18:00

Joanneumsviertel (entrance Kalchberggasse)
8010 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs


In English

Free admission (limited capacity)
Please secure your free ticket online or in the Visitor and Press Center. Please check the latest COVID-19 access conditions here.

→  Free tickets

 

The Church of Stop Shopping: Sunder Ganglani, Kai Pelton, David Yap, Francisca Benitez, Tewodros Tamirat, Killian Sundermann, Savitri D, William Talen


Commissioned and produced by steirischer herbst ʼ21    

With the generous support of the Embassy of the United States of America in Vienna

Reverend Billy and the Church of Stop Shopping

Necessary Interruption (2021)
Predigt und Performance

Stoppt die Shoppokalypse! Das ist die Botschaft, die Reverend Billy and the Church of Stop Shopping in ihrer neuen Predigt und Performance verbreiten.

Ob drastische Klimaveränderungen oder die rasante Ausbreitung globaler Pandemien, die Gründe für diese Krisen liegen in der ungebremsten Nachfrage nach immer mehr Konsumgütern. Dass die so verschwendeten Ressourcen nicht ersetzt werden können, wird immer deutlicher. Doch trotz einer weit verbreiteten Weltuntergangsstimmung geht das Einkaufen weiter wie eine Party auf dem Pulverfass. Der Kapitalismus zwängt uns in zwei Kategorien, die über Nationalismus, Regionalismus und Identität hinausgehen: Wir sind entweder Touristen oder Flüchtlinge. Merkt das überhaupt jemand? Oder stehen wir unter einem Bann?

In dieser apokalyptischen Atmosphäre schlagen The Church of Stop Shopping und ihr spiritueller „Anführer“ Reverend Billy etwas vor, das sie als „notwendige Unterbrechung“ bezeichnen. Sie sind ein Spektakel für sich: extravagant, laut, amerikanisch. Man sieht sie, wie sie durch Graz ziehen, auf dem Weg von einer Predigt zur nächsten, wie sie die Hypnotisierten aufwecken, Rituale und kraftvolle Exorzismen durchführen. Sie bringen uns eine Botschaft aus der Zukunft: Wir müssen uns selbst, unsere Entscheidungen und unsere Beziehung zur Erde zurückgewinnen, geleitet von unseren Mentoren – Jahrhundertstürme, Waldbrände, Hitzewellen und Dürreperioden.


Bio
Reverend Billy and the Church of Stop Shopping ist ein radikales Performance-Kollektiv mit Sitz in New York. Reverend Billy, ein humoristischer Prediger, der von Performancekünstler William (Billy) Talen dargestellt wird, warnt vor dem bevorstehenden Ende der Menschheit durch manisches Shopping. Begleitet wird er vom Stop Shopping Choir unter der Leitung von Savitri D. Die Gruppe arbeitet seit den späten 1990er-Jahren zusammen und wurde 2011 durch ihre Guerilla-Interventionen bei den Occupy Wall Street-Protesten bekannt. Sie treten auch regelmäßig in herkömmlicheren Kontexten auf.

17.9., 18.9., 14:00

Palais Attems
Sackstraße 17
8010 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

Google Maps

17.9., 18.9., 18:00

Joanneumsviertel (Eingang Kalchberggasse)
8010 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle


In englischer Sprache

Eintritt frei (Zählkarten)
Bitte sichern Sie sich Ihre kostenlose Zählkarte online oder im Besucher:innen- und Pressezentrum. Die Kapazität ist begrenzt. Bitte beachten Sie die aktuellen Covid-19-Zugangsbedingungen hier.

→  Zählkarten


The Church of Stop Shopping: Sunder Ganglani, Kai Pelton, David Yap, Francisca Benitez, Tewodros Tamirat, Killian Sundermann, Savitri D, William Talen


In Auftrag gegeben und produziert von steirischer herbst ʼ21

Mit großzügiger Unterstützung der Botschaft der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika in Wien