Žiga Divjak

Vročina / Fever (2021)
Performance

One of today’s most urgent issues, catastrophic climate change, is the focus of theater maker Žiga Divjak’s latest piece and steirischer herbst's first coproduction with its Slovenian neighbors from Mladinsko Theater.

In this live as well as streamed performance, six actors from Slovenia and Austria stage a public conversation in which they explore the economic reasons for the impending ecological catastrophe. Reducing our personal carbon footprint might relieve our consciences, but it does nothing to help the planet. The only way of saving the environment is by changing society as a whole. The task is to prevent the proverbial ninety-nine percent from suffering as one percent draw ever more profit from ecological meltdown.

Inspired by the theories of renowned economist Andreas Malm and anthropologist Jason Hickel’s reflections on post-growth economics, the ensemble present theories, draft threat scenarios, and launch activist appeals, oscillating between authentic representations of themselves and complex character sketches and drawing the audience into a tough dialogue about matters that concern us all.


Bio
Žiga Divjak (1992, Slovenia) is a theater director. In his pieces, he uses stripped-down documentary theater and a strong focus on text to address social and political reality. His works are clear-eyed, recognizably engaged artistic statements with robust ethics that tend to emotionally challenge and yet strongly intellectually affect their viewers. Divjak has directed with the City Theater of Ljubljana, the SNG Drama Ljubljana, and the Slovenian Youth Theater, where his most recent production Gejm won the prestigious Borštnik Award for Directing. He lives in Ljubljana.

24.9., 25.9., 26.9., 19:00

Orpheum
Orpheumgasse 8
8020 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Google Maps

In English, German, and Slovenian with English, German, and Slovenian surtitles

16/12 euros

→  Tickets


26.9., 21:00–22:10​
→  Eat and Greet


Cast: Damir Avdić, Mina Palada, Draga Potočnjak, Maya Unger, Vito Weis, Gregor Zorc 
Director: Žiga Divjak
Dramaturge: Goran Injac
Text: Žiga Divjak and the cast
Stage designer: Igor Vasiljev
Costume designer: Tina Pavlović
Composer: Blaž Gracar
Subject-matter expert: Andreas Malm
Research assistant: Maja Ava Žiberna
Video transmission consultant / DOP: Vid Hajnšek
Technical manager: Igor Remeta
Stage manager: Gašper Tesner
Executive producer: Tina Dobnik


Commissioned by steirischer herbst ’21 and Mladinsko Theater

Produced by Mladinsko Theater in coproduction with steirischer herbst ’21 and MASKA

With the kind support of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic Slovenia, Austrian Cultural Forum Ljubljana, SKICA, and the Municipality of Ljubljana

Žiga Divjak

Vročina / Fieber (2021)
Performance

Eines der drängendsten Themen unserer Zeit, der katastrophale Klimawandel, steht im Mittelpunkt des neuesten Stücks von Theatermacher Žiga Divjak, das gleichzeitig die erste Koproduktion des steirischen herbst mit den slowenischen Nachbar:innen vom Mladinsko Theater darstellt.

In dieser Live-Performance, die auch gestreamt wird, inszenieren sechs Schauspieler:innen aus Slowenien und Österreich ein öffentliches Gespräch, in dem sie die ökonomischen Gründe für die drohende ökologische Katastrophe untersuchen. Unseren persönlichen CO2-Fußabdruck zu reduzieren, mag unser Gewissen entlasten, hilft aber dem Planeten nicht. Die einzige Möglichkeit, die Umwelt zu retten, besteht darin, unsere Lebensweise und die Gesellschaft als Ganzes zu verändern. Es gilt zu verhindern, dass die sprichwörtlichen 99 Prozent leiden, während ein Prozent immer mehr Profit aus der ökologischen Katastrophe zieht.

Inspiriert von den Theorien des renommierten Ökonomen Andreas Malm und den Überlegungen des Anthropologen Jason Hickel zur Postwachstumsökonomie stellt das Ensemble Theorien vor, entwirft Bedrohungsszenarien und startet aktivistische Appelle. Dabei oszillieren die Darsteller:innen zwischen authentischen Selbstdarstellungen und komplexen Charakterskizzen und verwickeln das Publikum in einen schwierigen Dialog über Themen, die uns alle betreffen.


Bio
Žiga Divjak (1992, Slowenien) ist Theaterregisseur. In seinen Stücken setzt er sich mithilfe von dokumentarischem Theater und einem starken Textfokus mit sozialer und politischer Realität auseinander. Er erschafft klarsichtige, erkennbar engagierte künstlerische Arbeiten mit einer robusten Ethik, die dazu neigen, Zuschauer:innen emotional herauszufordern und dennoch stark intellektuell zu bewegen. Divjak führte Regie am Stadttheater von Ljubljana, am SNG Drama Ljubljana und am Slowenischen Jugendtheater, wo seine jüngste Produktion Gejm mit dem renommierten Borštnik-Preis für Regie ausgezeichnet wurde. Er lebt in Ljubljana.

24.9., 25.9., 26.9., 19:00

Orpheum
Orpheumgasse 8
8020 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

Google Maps

In englischer, deutscher und slowenischer Sprache mit englischen, deutschen und slowenischen Übertiteln

16/12 Euro

→  Tickets


26.9., 21:00–22:10
→  Eat and Greet


Ensemble: Damir Avdić, Mina Palada, Draga Potočnjak, Maya Unger, Vito Weis, Gregor Zorc 
Regie: Žiga Divjak
Dramaturg: Goran Injac
Text: Žiga Divjak und das Ensemble
Bühnenbild: Igor Vasiljev
Kostüme: Tina Pavlović
Musik: Blaž Gracar
Thematischer Experte: Andreas Malm
Assistenz Recherche: Maja Ava Žiberna
Beratung Videoübertragung / Kamera: Vid Hajnšek
Technik: Igor Remeta
Inspizienz: Gašper Tesner
Executive Producer: Tina Dobnik


In Auftrag gegeben von steirischer herbst ’21 und Mladinsko Theater

Produziert vom Mladinsko Theater in Koproduktion mit steirischer herbst ’21 und MASKA

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung vom Kulturministerium der Republik Slowenien, vom Österreichischen Kulturforum Laibach, von SKICA und der Stadt Ljubljana