Yael Bartana

Chaim Hermann Steinschneider (2021)
Stage performance

The ghosts and uncomfortable imaginaries of Austrian-Jewish history come to life in Yael Bartana’s stage performance and live taping for steirischer herbst. Audiences are invited to take part in a séance, in which Bartana, working with actress Susanne Sachsse, evokes the spirit of famed clairvoyant Erik Jan Hanussen, a contradictory and controversial figure from the history of fascism.

Born into a Viennese Jewish family as Chaim Hermann Steinschneider, Hanussen was a variety performer who eventually enjoyed a meteoric career in interwar Berlin. “Passing” as a Danish nobleman and hiding his background, he eventually became a familiar of the Nazis during their rise to power but met a violent end after he predicted the Reichstag fire of 1933. The theory is that he was assassinated after his protectors and clients discovered his true identity …

In Bartana’s piece, Susanne Sachsse acts as a medium helping Hanussen return to our time. It is a present where the Nazis have done a maximum of damage, but also one where some of the 20th century’s Zionist dreams have come true, paradoxically supported by today’s ultranationalists and former anti-Semites. In this setting, Hanussen plays out one of his favorite routines—the reading of objects, from which he draws dark secrets and tragic outcomes. What would such a reading look like today? What dystopian and messianic visions would a clairvoyant and master of fake news like Hanussen draw from everyday objects, antiques, souvenirs, and ordinary things?

Visitors are asked to dress formally (1920s and 1930s style) for the séance.


Bio
Yael Bartana (1970, Israel) is an artist and filmmaker. In her films, installations, photographs, stage performances, and public monuments, she investigates subjects such as national identity, trauma, and displacement, often through ceremonies, memorials, public rituals, and collective gatherings. Her work has been exhibited worldwide and is represented in the collections of many museums, including the Museum of Modern Art, New York; the Tate Modern, London; and the Centre Pompidou, Paris. She currently lives in Berlin and Amsterdam.

2.10., 3.10., 19:00

Orpheum
Orpheumgasse 8
8020 Graz
♿ Venue accessible for wheelchairs

Google Maps

In German

16/12 euros

→  Tickets


2.10., 21:00–22:10​
→  Eat and Greet


Commissioned and produced by steirischer herbst ’21

With the generous support of Mondriaan Fonds
With the kind support of Artis

Yael Bartana

Chaim Hermann Steinschneider (2021)
Bühnen-Performance

In ihrer Bühnen-Performance und Live-Aufzeichnung für den steirischen herbst erweckt Yael Bartana die Geister und beunruhigenden Fantasien der österreichisch-jüdischen Geschichte zum Leben. Gemeinsam mit der Schauspielerin Susanne Sachsse beschwört Bartana in einer Séance den Geist des berühmten Hellsehers Erik Jan Hanussen, eine widersprüchliche und umstrittene Figur aus der Geschichte des Faschismus.

Hanussen, der als Chaim Hermann Steinschneider in eine jüdische Wiener Familie hineingeboren wurde, war ein Varieté-Darsteller, der im Berlin der Zwischenkriegszeit eine beispiellose Karriere erlebte. Seine Herkunft verbergend, gab er sich als dänischer Adliger aus und wurde schließlich zu einem Vertrauten der Nationalsozialisten während ihres Aufstiegs zur Macht. Er fand jedoch ein gewaltsames Ende, nachdem er den Reichstagsbrand von 1933 vorausgesagt hatte. Es wird vermutet, dass er ermordet wurde, nachdem seine Beschützer und Kunden seiner wahren Identität auf die Spur gekommen waren …

In Bartanas Stück wird Susanne Sachsse zu einem Medium, das Hanussen hilft, in unsere Zeit zurückzukehren. Es ist eine Gegenwart, in der die Nazis ein Maximum an Schaden angerichtet haben, aber auch eine, in der einige der zionistischen Träume des 20. Jahrhunderts wahr geworden sind, paradoxerweise mit der Unterstützung der heutigen Ultranationalisten und ehemaliger Antisemiten. In diesem Umfeld führt Hanussen eine seiner Lieblingsnummern vor – das Lesen von Gegenständen, aus denen er dunkle Geheimnisse und tragische Enden ableitet. Wie würde eine solche Lesung heute aussehen? Welche dystopischen und messianischen Visionen würde ein Hellseher und Meister der Fake News wie Hanussen aus Alltagsgegenständen, Antiquitäten, Souvenirs und ganz gewöhnlichen Dingen gewinnen?

Besucher:innen werden gebeten, sich für die Séance formell zu kleiden (im Stil der 1920er und 1930er-Jahre).


Bio
Yael Bartana (Israel, 1970) ist Künstlerin und Filmemacherin. In ihren Filmen, Installationen, Fotografien, inszenierten Performances und öffentlichen Denkmälern untersucht sie Themen wie nationale Identität, Trauma und Entwurzelung, oft durch Zeremonien, Gedenkstätten, öffentliche Rituale und kollektive Versammlungen. Ihre Arbeiten wurden weltweit ausgestellt und sind in den Sammlungen vieler Museen vertreten, darunter das Museum of Modern Art, New York, die Tate Modern, London, und das Centre Pompidou, Paris. Derzeit lebt und arbeitet sie in Berlin und Amsterdam.

2.10., 3.10., 19:00

Orpheum
Orpheumgasse 8
8020 Graz
♿ Zugänglich für Rollstühle

Google Maps

In deutscher Sprache

16/12 Euro

→  Tickets


2.10., 21:00–22:10​
→  Eat and Greet


In Auftrag gegeben und produziert von steirischer herbst ’21

Mit großzügiger Unterstützung des Mondriaan Fonds
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Artis